Technology and Innovation Management
Technology and Innovation Management

Chair of Technology and Innovation Management

Three people sitting in front of a table laughing together © brookecagle

For Students

What is the potential of new technologies? How can an established firm become as innovative as start-ups? Is Blockchain for Climate Action a radical innovation? What is a product backlog in agile projects? Do you find these questions interesting? Then learn with us – engage in our TIM courses and make an impact with an interesting thesis project.

Photo Of Pen On Top Of Notebook © fauxels/pexels.com

For Researchers

We are interested in technology and innovation management. We seek to address relevant problems and opportunities. Our research is theory-driven and always seeks empirical validation. Organizational structures or processes as well as human behavior in innovation processes are of central interest to us. New technologies often enter as research subjects or support our innovative research methods. We collaborate with international research teams and promote research talents.

people sitting down near table with assorted laptop computers © marvelous

For Firms

TIM research and teaching collaborates closely with innovative firms. Many of our research projects draw on data gathered in and with industrial partners. Research results are actively conveyed in industry meetings and workshops and we are always open to discussing new ideas for collaboration. In particular in teaching, we offer different opportunities for bringing students and firms together in innovative learning formats.

News

TIM Teaching Portfolio in the winter term 2021/2022

Contingent upon Corona-related rules, we are currently planning our modules “Fundamentals of Project Management” and “Organisation and Innovation Management” to be delivered in an online-teaching format. All other modules in the winter term are currently planned as in-presense courses.

Fantastic success at the IPDMC 2021

The Innovation and Product Development Management Conference (IPDMC) is a leading conference in the field of innovation management and new product development. This year’s 28th IPDMC (2021) was a fantastic success for us as the TIM research group: We presented three interesting papers and could even continue last year’s success of winning an award. This year, the paper titled: “Exploring Technology Strategy in Times of Convergence: The Case of Printed Electronics" (authors: Annika Wambsganss, Philip Emmerich, Stefanie Bröring, Mile Katic, Søren Salomo, Nathalie Sick, Lora Tsetanova) was granted the Thomas Hustad Best Student Paper Award! Congratulations to Annika, a PhD student at TU Berlin and UTS for such a great achievement with her first academic paper.

TIM part of BeIntelligent consortium

The TIM research group has become part of the BeIntelligent consortium led by the DAI lab. This project is about developing innovative autonomous mobility opportunities from logistic robots to autonomous buses.

PDMA PhD Award to Felix Pinkow

PDMA awarded TIM research fellow Felix Pinkow a prestigious PhD award for his thesis proposal on understanding the affect-creativity nexus. In particular, Felix’ conceptual foundation and innovative methodologica approach were highlighted as remarkable. The award comes with an obligation to present the central PhD results at the 2022/23 JPIM Research Forum.

Technologie- und Innovationsmanagement
Technologie- und Innovationsmanagement

Fachgebiet Technologie- und Innovationsmanagement

Drei Personen sitzen lachend zusammen am Tisch © brookecagle

Für Studierende

Wie erkennt man das Potential neuer Technologien? Wie kann man als etabliertes Unternehmen genauso innovativ sein wie Start-ups? Was ist Crowdsourcing für Innovationen? Warum ist Blockchain for Climate Action eine radicale innovation? Was ist ein Product Backlog in einem agilen Projekt? Finden Sie die Fragen interessant? Dann sollten Sie mit uns Lernen – in engagierenden TIM-Kursen und interessanten Abschlussarbeiten.

Foto Des Stiftes Oben Auf Notizbuch © fauxels/pexels.com

Für Forschende

Wir interessieren uns für Technologie- und Innovationsmanagement. Wir sind an relevanten Problemen und Möglichkeiten interessiert, unsere Forschung ist theoriegeleitet und sucht immer eine empirische Fundierung. In unserer Forschung stehen Organisationsstrukturen und -Prozesse im Vordergrund. Dabei interessieren uns auch besonders für die Menschen im Innovationsprozess. In unserer Forschung spielen neue Technologien sowohl als Untersuchungsgegenstand als auch in der Forschungsmethodik eine große Rolle. Wir arbeiten in internationalen Forschergruppen und fördern Forschungsnachwuchs.

Leute, die in der Nähe des Tisches mit verschiedenen Laptops sitzen © marvelous

Für Unternehmen

Die TIM Forschung und Lehre geschieht in enger Zusammenarbeit mit innovativen Unternehmen. Viele unserer Forschungsprojekte beruhen auf Daten, die wir in und mit Unternehmen erheben. Wir vermitteln unsere Forschungsergebnisse aktiv in Industrievorträgen und -Workshops und stehen neuen Zusammenarbeitsideen immer offen gegenüber. Gerade in der Lehre bieten wir verschiedene Möglichkeiten, um Unternehmen und Studierende in innovativen Lernformaten zusammenzubringen.

News

TIM-Lehrportfolio des Wintersemesters 2021/2022

Alle Kurse im Wintersemester werden online stattfinden.

Allgemeine TIM-Einführungsveranstaltung am 18.10.2021 um 12 Uhr.

Modulspezifische Einführungsveranstaltungen:

Corporate Innovation Management: 18.10., 12 Uhr
Organisation und Innovationsmanagement: 18.10., 14 Uhr
Strategic Project Management : 18.10., 16 Uhr
Fundamentals of Project Management: 20.10., 8 Uhr
Advanced Research Seminar: 20.10., 16 Uhr
Research Practice Seminar: VERSCHOBEN - als Blockseminar in Q1, 2022 angeboten

Toller Erfolg auf der IPDMC 2021

Die Innovation and Product Development Management Conference (IPDMC) ist eine führende Konferenz auf dem Gebiet des Innovationsmanagements und Neuer Produktentwicklung. Die diesjährige 28. IPDMC war für uns als TIM-Fachgebiet ein fantastischer Erfolg: Wir haben drei hochkarätige Paper präsentiert und konnten sogar an den Erfolg des letzten Jahres anknüpfen und auch in diesem Jahr einen Preis gewinnen. Dieses Jahr wurde das Papier mit dem Titel: "Exploring Technology Strategy in Times of Convergence: The Case of Printed Electronics" (Autoren: Annika Wambsganss, Philip Emmerich, Stefanie Bröring, Mile Katic, Søren Salomo, Nathalie Sick, Lora Tsetanova) mit dem Thomas Hustad Best Student Paper Award ausgezeichnet! Herzlichen Glückwunsch an die Erstautorin und Doktorandin an der TU Berlin und der UTS, Annika, die damit für ihr erstes Paper gleich einen Preis einstreicht.

TIM im Konsortium BeIntelligent

Die TIM Forschergruppe ist Teil des neuen BeIntelligent Konsortiums unter Leitung des DAI labs. Hier geht es um die Entwicklung innovativer autonomer Mobilität vom Logistik-Roboter zum autonomen Bus.

PDMA PhD Preis für Felix Pinkow

Die PDMA hat Felix Pinkow, Doktorand in der TIM Forschergruppe, einen angesehenen PHD Konzept-Preis für seine geplante Arbeit zum Zusammenhang von Affekt und Kreativität verliehen. Besonders hervorgehoben wurde dabei die theoretische Fundierung und die innovative Forschungsmethodik. Felix wird die Ergebnisse seiner Dissertation dann voraussichtlich auf dem JPIM Research Forum 2022/23 vorstellen.