Neural Information Processing
Neural Information Processing Group
We are concerned with the principles underlying information processing in biological systems. On the one hand we want to understand how the brain computes, on the other hand we want to utilize the strategies employed by biological systems for machine learning applications. Our research interests cover three thematic areas.

Models of Neuronal Systems

In collaboration with neurobiologists and clinicians we study how the visual system processes visual information. Research topics include: cortical dynamics, the representation of visual information, adaptation and plasticity, and the role of feedback. More recently we became interested in how perception is linked to cognitive function, and we began to study computational models of decision making in uncertain environments, and how those processes interact with perception and memory.

Machine Learning and Neural Networks

Here we investigate how machines can learn from examples in order to predict and (more recently) act. Research topics include the learning of proper representations, active and semisupervised learning schemes, and prototype-based methods. Motivated by the model-based analysis of decision making in humans we also became interested in reinforcement learning schemes and how these methods can be extended to cope with multi-objective cost functions. In collaboration with colleagues from the application domains, machine learning methods are applied to different problems ranging from computer vision, information retrieval, to chemoinformatics.

Analysis of Neural Data

Here we are interested to apply machine learning and statistical methods to the analysis of multivariate biomedical data, in particular to data which form the basis of our computational studies of neural systems. Research topics vary and currently include spike-sorting and the analysis of multi-tetrode recordings, confocal microscopy and 3D-reconstruction techniques, and the analysis of imaging data. Recently we became interested in the analysis of multimodal data, for example, correlating anatomical, imaging, and genetic data.

News

No news available.

Upcoming Events

Location

Building

The group "Neural Information Processing" is located in the building Marchstr. 23 (MAR) on the fifth floor.

Contact

Neural Information Processing Group

Organization name Technische Universität Berlin
Office MAR 5-6
Building MAR
Address Marchstrasse 23
10587 Berlin

Head

Prof. Dr.

Klaus Obermayer

klaus.obermayer@tu-berlin.de

Building MAR
Room MAR 5043
Consultation Hours Fr12:00-13:00

Administrative Office

Office MAR 5-6
Building MAR
Room MAR 5042
Consultation Hours Wed9:00-11:00

Neuronale Informationsverarbeitung
Neuronale Informationsverarbeitung
Wir beschäftigen uns mit den Grundlagen der Informationsverarbeitung in biologischen Systemen. Einerseits möchten wir die Funktionsmechanismen unseres Gehirns verstehen, andererseits machen wir uns die Strategien biologischer Systeme in Anwendungen maschinellen Lernens zu Nutze. Unsere Forschungsinteressen sind thematisch in drei Bereiche unterteilt.
© NI, TUB

Modelle neuronaler Systeme

In Zusammenarbeit mit Neurobiologen und Klinikern erforschen wir die Mechanismen der Informationsverarbeitung im visuellen System. Die Forschungsthemen behinhalten: Kortikale Dynamik, die Repräsentation visueller Information, Adaptation und Plastizität, sowie die Rolle von Rückkopplung. Seit jüngerer Zeit beschäftigen wir uns mit dem Zusammenhang von Wahrnehmung und kognitiven Funktionen. Hier untersuchen wir mathematische Modelle der Entscheidungsfindung in unbekannten Umgebungen hinsichtlich der Frage, wie die zugrunde liegenden Prozesse mit Wahrnehmung und Gedächtnis wechselwirken.

© NI, TUB

Maschinelles Lernen und neuronale Netze

Hier befassen wir uns mit dem künstlichen Erlernen von Zusammenhängen anhand von Beispielen, um Vorhersagen und Entscheidungen zu treffen. Die Forschungsthemen umfassen: Lernen geeigneter Darstellungen/Abbildungen, aktive und halbüberwachte Lernverfahren, sowie Prototyp-bezogene Methoden. Inspiriert durch die Modell-basierte Erforschung jener Vorgänge, welche für die Entscheidungsfindung eine zentrale Rolle spielen, haben wir begonnen Belohnungs- bzw. Bestrafungs-Lernen zu untersuchen und erweitern. Zusammen mit Spezialisten aus verschiedenen Anwendungsbereichen setzen wir maschinelles Lernen etwa zur Wiedergewinnung von Informationen ein, für maschinelles Sehen oder in der Chemoinformatik.

© NI, TUB

Analyse neuronaler Daten

Hier wenden wir maschinelles Lernen und statistische Verfahren zur Analyse multivariater biometrischer Daten an, insbesondere Daten, welche eine Grundlage für unsere computergestützten Studien neuronaler Systeme bilden. Die Forschungsthemen variieren und beinhalten gegenwärtig Spike-sorting und die Analyse von Multi-Tetroden Aufnahmen, Konfokalmikroskopie und 3D-Rekonstruktionsmethoden, sowie die Analyse von Daten bildgebender Verfahren. Seit Kurzem beschäftigen wir uns mit der Analyse multimodaler Daten und korrelieren beispielsweise anatomische, genetische, und Bilddatensätze.

Aktuelles

Keine Nachrichten verfügbar.

Kommende Veranstaltungen

Standort

Gebäude

Die Arbeitsgruppe "Neuronale Informationsverarbeitung" befindet sich im Haus in der Marchstrasse 23 (MAR) im 5. Stock.

Kontakt

Neuronale Informationsverarbeitung

Einrichtung Technische Universität Berlin
Sekretariat MAR 5-6
Gebäude MAR
Adresse Marchstrasse 23
10587 Berlin

Leiter

Prof. Dr.

Klaus Obermayer

klaus.obermayer@tu-berlin.de

Gebäude MAR
Raum MAR 5043
Sprechstunden Fr12:00-13:00

Sekretariat

Gebäude MAR
Raum MAR 5042
Sprechstunden Mi9:00-10:00