Chair of Smart Water Networks

Interconnected critical urban infrastructure systems and the urban metabolism

ide3a - international alliance for digital e-learning, e-mobility and e-research in academia

ide3a is a collaborative project in the higher education sector, which involves a multidisciplinary and international consortium of five European partner universities, led by Technische Universität Berlin (TUB) and including the Norwegian University of Science and Technology (NTNU), Politecnico di Milano (PoliMi), Cracow University of Technology (CUT) and Dublin City University (DCU). ide3a aims to help TU Berlin and its partners on the road to internationalisation and digitalisation of teaching and administration. To achieve that we develop a virtual campus where technologies for e-learning, e-research and e-mobility are integrated with three specific objectives.
First, ide3a implements the interdisciplinary topic of “Critical Infrastructure and Digitalisation” in traditional study programs using blended-learning formats targeting students from different study programs (e-learning). Second, new digital technologies for advanced modelling and management of urban critical infrastructure systems (water networks, energy grids, sensors/telecommunication networks, transportation systems, and green infrastructure) along with their inter-connections and dependencies constitute the research core in ide3a. Furthermore, ide3a explores the opportunities and challenges brought by the digitalisation of urban critical infrastructure systems, e.g., through the use of digital sensors, IoT, and advanced analytics tools, to foster sustainability, resilience, and inform decision making in these multi-stakeholders systems (e-research). Finally, the ide3a university network aims to create a fully digitalised management of both short-term and long-term student and staff mobility (e-mobility).


Funding Agency: German Academic Exchange Service (DAAD, IMKD - International Mobility and Cooperation through Digitalisation program) and BMBF (German Federal Ministry of Education and Research)

Duration: Apr 2020 - Mar 2023

Contact persons: Markus Fischer, Lisa Westphal