Scientific Advice on Climate Change at EU Level

Professor Dr. Ottmar Edenhofer, head of the Chair of Economics of Climate Change at TU Berlin and director of the Potsdam Institute for Climate Impact Research as well as the Mercator Research Institute on Global Commons and Climate Change has been appointed as member of the newly established European Scientific Advisory Board on Climate Change. The European Climate Law provides for the establishment of a European scientific advisory board on climate change consisting of 15 renowned scientific experts from a wide range of relevant disciplines. The new Advisory Board will provide independent scientific advice on EU measures and climate goals including compliance with the European Climate Law and the EU's international obligations within the Paris Agreement. Members of the Advisory Board are appointed for a period of four years, which may be renewed once for a further period of four years. The members conduct their duties independent of the member states and EU institutions. No more than two members of the Advisory Board may be citizens of the same member state.

Furter information

 Website of the European Environment Agency