Institute of Solid-State Physics

Institute of Solid State Physics

The Institute of Solid State Physics currently consists of five research groups dedicated to a broad spectrum of solid state physics issues. Research areas include the epitaxial growth of semiconductor hetero- and nanostructures, the investigation of new materials such as graphene and 2D materials, and the development of nanophotonic and electronic devices and systems. Another focus is the electrical, optical and structural characterization and the development of nanoscopic measurement techniques, such as scanning tunneling microscopy, microluminescence spectroscopy, scanning near-field optical microscopy and microraman spectroscopy.
The research activities at the IKFP span a bridge from basic research to application and have already led to several successful spin-offs. The work is supported by central facilities, such as the Nanophotonics Center (NPZ) and the precision mechanics as well as the glass technology workshop. In total, about 150 employees (university teachers, scientific/technical staff and students) conduct research at the IFKP. Furthermore, three S-professorships belong to the IFKP: Prof. Dr. Norbert Esser (Leibniz Institute for Analytical Sciences), Prof. Dr. Bella Lake (Helmholtz-Zentrum Berlin für Materialien und Energie) and Prof. Dr. Martin Schell (Fraunhofer Heinrich Hertz Institute).

A large part of the research work takes place within the framework of national and international projects and networks. There are worldwide cooperations with other university and research institutes, e.g. within the "Joint Lab GaN Optoelectronics" with the Ferdinand-Braun-Institut, Leibniz-Institut für Höchstfrequenztechnik. The managing director is Prof. Dr. Michael Kneissl (secretariat EW 5-1).