Architecture Theory

PhD Students

Viviana Torero studied architecture and urbanism in Lima and Mexico City. She completed her Master's degree with distinction from the National Autonomous University in Mexico. During her Master's studies, she participated in an academic research stay at the Technical School of Architecture of the University of Seville in Spain. Since October 2021, she has been working on her dissertation "After Style-Style and Meaning in Architecture" at the Department of Architectural Theory of the Institute of Architecture at the Technical University of Berlin as part of the DAAD doctoral scholarship.

Working title of the dissertation:
"After Style-Style and Meaning in Architecture".

Ozan Soya studied architecture at the Izmir Institute of Technology and completed an M.Sc. degree in architectural history at Istanbul Technical University. His master's thesis "Modernism in Italian and Turkish Architectures during The Interwar Period" comparatively examined the interaction of modernism with the architectural traditions of Italy and Turkey in the period between the two world wars. He worked as an architect for architectural firms; lectured and ran architectural design studios at various schools of architecture. His PhD project at the TU Berlin deals with the evolution of tectonic thinking in contemporary architectural theory.

Working title of the dissertation:
"Shifting Notions of Tectonics at the Turn of the Twenty-First Century".

Hu Fei studied architecture at the School of Architecture and Planning, Hunan University in China and completed the master's degree in architecture in 2020. His master's thesis "The Thought, Evolution, Criticism and Accumulation of Archigram" was awarded the Provincial Excellence in Master's Thesis.
Since February 2023, he has been working on his doctoral project dealing with the themes of Neo-avant-gardes' progressive critiques on modern architecture in 1950-70s at the Department of Architectural Theory at the Institute of Architecture at Technische Universität Berlin as part of the CSC doctoral scholarship.


Zorica Međo received her Bachelor's and Master's degrees in architecture from the University of Belgrade. She then worked in several international architectural offices in Serbia, Brazil, Qatar and Germany. Her work has been exhibited at the Serbian Academy of Sciences and Arts, the Museum of Applied Arts in Belgrade and the Institute for Advanced Architecture of Catalonia (Iaac) in Barcelona. She has taught at the Faculty of Architecture at the University of Belgrade and at the Laboratory for Integrative Architecture (LIA) at the Technical University of Berlin. Zorica is currently working on her dissertation "Socio-Aesthetics of Porosity: Porous Spaces in Collective Housing" at the LIA and the Department of Architectural Theory at the TU Berlin, with the scholarship of the Konrad Adenauer Foundation and the Scholarship for Young Scholars (PAS) of the TU Berlin. Her research examines the relationship between architecture and social life using the example of collective living spaces, starting from the concept of "porosity".

Working title of the dissertation: 
"Socio-Aesthetics of Porosity: Porous Spaces in Collective Housing"

Christina Papadopoulou was born in Athens and graduated from the Faculty of Civil Engineering at the Polytechnic University of Thessaly in Greece in 2013. She has worked in several international studios in Athens, London and Berlin, including 314 architecture studio, Divercity Architects, Mila Gesellschaft von Architekten mbH, gmp Architekten. She has been a member of the Berlin Chamber of Architects since 2021. She is a PhD candidate at the Department of Architectural Theory, Institute of Architecture, TU Berlin, where she is writing her dissertation under the supervision of Professor Jörg Gleiter. Her research examines the urban constellations of disturbance on the island of Syros and their transformation in the context of a humanitarian crisis as well as specific factors such as globalisation, climate change and state strategies for dealing with urbanity that are currently transforming our society. The history of the capital of the Cyclades, Syros, goes back at least 5,000 years, to the early Bronze Age of Cycladic civilisation, and entails a high degree of individuality of the inhabitants as well as very specific environmental conditions that have led to typological homogeneity. The search for a collective identity explores the notion of tourism as an evolutionary urban and communal impulse in this context of investigation. In 2022, Christina began her dissertation, which she is working on alongside her professional work as a senior architect in the office of gmp Architekten in Berlin.

Working title of the dissertation:
"Tourism as impulse of urban and social transformation subtitle: Local frames of a global phenomenon".

Julian Franke, born in 1991, is an architect and philosopher. After completing his bachelor's degree at Münster University of Applied Sciences and a further degree in philosophy at TU Berlin with a stay abroad at University College Cork in Ireland, Julian graduated with a Master of Science in Architecture from TU Berlin. In Berlin and Zurich, he was able to gain experience in international architectural offices and now focuses on both practical and theoretical content as a freelance architect and research assistant at the Lucerne University of Applied Sciences and Arts and as a doctoral student at the TU Berlin. In addition to developing innovative forms of housing and sustainable, future-oriented urban development, Julian deals with topics at the interface of architectural philosophy, anthropology, image theory and aesthetics. In his publications, he is particularly concerned with the perception of architecture and the associated role of imaginations, associations and interpretations of the respective user and recipient. 

Working title of the dissertation:
"Critical Theory of Renunciation: Architecture between Ethics and Aesthetics"

Former PhD students

Jan Bovelet (2021)

Adria Daraban (2021, second supervision)

Francesca Favaro (2021, second supervision)

Juan Almarza Anwandter (2020)

Sandra Meireis (2020)

Frederike Lausch (2019, second supervision)

Giancarlo Poli (2016, second supervision)

Ulrike Kuch (2014, second supervision)

Marco Paladines (2023)

Dirk Mönch (2023)