The University management of Technische Universität Berlin since 1946

Technische Universität Berlin is governed by an executive board. Since 1946, numerous people have dedicated themselves to and managed the concerns of the University, shaping areas such as education, international affairs, and research.

Information about the current University management

Presidents, vice presidents, and chancellors since 1970

fromuntilPositionNameFurther information
2022todayPresidentProf. Dr. Geraldine Rauch 
2022today1st Vice President for Research and AppointmentsProf. Dr.-Ing. Stephan Völker 
2022todayVice President for Education, Teacher Training, and Continuing EducationChristian Schröder 
2022todayVice President for Sustainability, Internal Communication, Transfer and TransdisciplinarityProf. Dr. Sophia Becker 
2021todayVice Presidenfor AdministrationLars Oeverdieck 
20142022PresidentProf. Dr. Christian ThomsenNew Year Address 2022
Bulletin from the President
20142022Vice President for Research, Appointment Strategy, Knowledge & Technology Transfer (2018-2022);
Vice President for Research and Faculty Appointment Matters (2014-2018)
Prof. Dr.-Ing. Christine Ahrend 
20142022Vice President for Education, Digitalization, and Sustainability (2018-2022);
Vice President for Education (2014-2018)
Prof. Dr. Hans-Ulrich Heiß 
20212022Vice President for Teacher Education and Junior ScholarsProf. Dr. Ulf Schrader 
20142021Vice President for Strategic Development, Junior Scholars, and Teacher Education (2018-2021);
Vice President for International Relations and Teacher Education (2014-2018)
Prof. Dr. Angela Ittel 
20202021Acting Vice Presiden for AdministrationLars Oeverdieck 
20172020Vice Presidenfor AdministrationDr. Mathias Neukirchen 
20042016ChancellorProf. Dr. Ulrike Gutheil 
20102014PresidentProf. Dr.-Ing. Jörg Steinbach 
20112014VP1 for Research and AppointmentsProf. Dr.-Ing. Paul Uwe Thamsen 
20102011VP1 for Research and AppointmentsProf. Dr. Ulrike Woggon 
20122014VP2 for EducationProf. Dr. Hans-Ulrich Heiß 
20102012VP2 for EducationProf. Dr.-Ing. Wolfgang Huhnt 
20102014VP3 for Junior Scholars, Scientific Continuing Education, Teacher Education, and Corporate IdentityDr. Gabriele Wendorf 
20022010PresidentProf. Dr. Kurt Kutzler 
20022010VP1 for EducationProf. Dr.-Ing. Jörg Steinbach 
20062010VP2 for ResearchProf. Dr. Johann Köppel 
20042006VP2 for Research and Information and Communication TechnologyProf. Dr.-Ing. Klaus Petermann 
20022004VP2 for Research and International RelationsProf. Dr.-Ing. Luciënne Blessing 
20082010VP3 for Teacher Education, Scientific Continuing Education, and Junior ScholarsDr. Gabriele Wendorf 
20022008VP3 for Teacher Education, Scientific Continuing Education, and Junior ScholarsUlrike Strate 
19992004ChancellorWolfgang Bröker 
19972002PresidentProf. Dr. Hans-Jürgen Ewers 
19992002Vice PresidentProf. Dr. Kurt Kutzler 
19992002VP2 for EducationProf. Dr.-Ing. Jürgen Sahm 
20012002VP3 for International Relations and Junior ScholarsProf. Dr. Dr. h.c. Bernhard Wilpert 
19992001VP3 for Research and Junior ScholarsProf. Dr. Günter Abel 
19971999Vice PresidentProf. Dr.-Ing. Günther Seliger 
19971999VP2 for EducationProf. Dr. Christian Thomsen 
19971999VP3 for Research and Promotion of Junior ScholarsDr. Harald Kolrep 
19931997PresidentProf. Dr. Dieter Schumann 
19891999ChancellorUlrich Podewils 
19851993PresidentProf. Dr.-Ing. Manfred Fricke 
19791985PresidentProf. Dr.-Ing. Jürgen Starnick 
19771978PresidentDr. jur. Rolf Berger 
19701977PresidentProf. Dr.-Ing. Alexander Wittkowsky 

Rectors 1946-1970

Time in officeName
1968-1970Prof. Dr. rer. nat. Hans Wever
1967-1968Prof. Dr. phil. Kurt Weichselberger
1965-1967Prof. Dr.-Ing. Friedrich-Wilhelm Gundlach
1963-1965Prof. Dr. rer. nat. Paul Hilbig, Markscheidewesen
1961-1963Prof. Dr. phil. Herbert Kölbel
1960-1961Prof. Dr.-Ing. Johannes Lorenz
1959-1960Prof. Dipl.-Kfm., Dr. phil. Otto R. Schnutenhaus
1957-1959Prof. Dr.-Ing. Werner Kniehahn
1956-1957Prof. Dipl.-Ing. Kurt Dübbers
1955-1956Prof. Dr.-Ing. Johannes Lorenz
1953-1955Prof. Dr. phil. Otto Dahl
1951-1953Prof. Dr. phil. Iwan-Nicola Stranski
1950-1951Prof. Dr.-Ing. Walter Pflaum
1949-1950Prof. Dipl.-Ing. Hans Freese
1948-1949Prof. Dr.-Ing. Kurt Apel
1947-1948Prof. Dr.-Ing. Jean D'Ans
1946-1947Prof. Dr. Walter Kucharski

Explanatory note: Until 1969, the head of Technische Universität Berlin was called rector, not president, and the vice rectors served as deputy. This changed with the enactment of the Act Governing Universities in the State of Berlin (Universitätsgesetz) on 16 July 1969, published in the Laws and Ordinances Gazette of Berlin, Volume 25, 1969, p. 909 p.p..