Artwork and Monuments on the TU Berlin Campus

Often seen, yet not recognized: Every path you take across the Technische Universität Berlin campus is like visiting an exhibition. Approximately 80 artworks and monuments are located throughout the University grounds, making it an important center for art in public spaces. The works were created by local and national artists. The oldest pieces date back to the beginning of the 19th century and Technische Universität Berlin's predecessor institutions. They include not only paintings and sculptures but also architectural fragments such as August Stüler’s pair of Doric pillars as well as monuments to individuals who played an important role in Technische Universität Berlin’s history, including Werner von Siemens and Franz Reuleaux. The collection has been considerably extended since the 1970s in line with the "Kunst am Bau" regulations which require that approximately one percent of public building costs be used for art.

TU Berlin as a place of technical progress

The aim remains to make art publicly accessible and create a relationship between a building and artwork. The competitions for the selection of artworks reflect not only artistic but also political developments. Awards such as "Art and User Participation" (1977) and "Man and Work in the Factory of Tomorrow" (1986) address the need to fulfill social commitments in art as well as the participatory function of art in public space. Much of the artwork on the Technische Universität Berlin campus reflects an engagement with the scientific context of the University. In this way, the work also contributes to a sense of identity. While Technische Universität Berlin is a place of technical progress, it also promotes artistic innovation. Examples of the interaction between art and science include the many kinetic works of art such as the “Flügeltor” by Riehnhard Haverkamp in front of the Main Building.

Discovery tours: selected artwork and monuments at a glance

  • Marker  Elsbeth Arlt (1948-2015): "Realität in den Regalen"
  • Marker  Johann Heinrich Strack (1805–1880), Columned hall
  • Marker  Reinhard Haverkamp (*1954): "Flügeltor"
  • Marker  Karl Friedrich Schinkel (1781–1831): Ionische Säule
  • Marker  Volkmar Haase (1930–2012): "Gruppe Plastik 71"
  • Marker  Haus-Rucker-Co (1967–1992): "Pyramide"
  • Marker  Frank Oehring (*1939): "Raumobjekt II"
  • Marker  Georg Karl Pfahler (1926–2002): "Metro-Serie"
  • Marker  Wilhelm Wandschneider (1866–1942), Monument to Werner von Siemens
  • Marker  Bernhard Heiliger (1915-1995): "Flamme der Freiheit"
  • Marker  Joachim Fritz Schultze-Bansen (1926–2005), untitled
  • Marker  Friedrich Gräsel (1927–2013): "Röhrenkuben auf Schäften"
  • Marker  Hein Sinken (1914–1987), "Windkinetisches Objekt"
  • Marker  Johannes Röttger (1864-1899): Monument to Franz Reuleaux