Bioprocess Engineering
Bioprocess Engineering
© Oana Popa-Costea
Bioprocess Engineering

Welcome to the Department of Bioprocess Engineering
Prof. Dr. Peter Neubauer

Bioprocess Engineering

6th BioProScale Symposium

The 6th BioProScale was held virtually from 29.03. to 31.03.2021, organized by the Chair of Bioprocess Engineering, the Bio-PAT network and the IfGB. It was a great experience for us. We thank all contributors, participants and sponsors.
The restrictions due to the Corona pandemic presented us with special challenges. However, our presenters were able to overcome them and we saw exciting talks and posters.
The MDPI Lecture Prize went to Björn Gutschmann and Thomas Schiewe. The Eppendorf Prize for the best poster went to Mr. Amin Javidanbardan.

Mission

We aim to advance bioprocess scale-up and scale-down, process analytical technologies (PAT), dynamic modelling and optimisation, automated bioprocess development, cell and systems biology applied to microbial bioprocesses and biocatalysis applications.

Our research at the Chair of Bioprocess Engineering led by Professor Dr. Peter Neubauer aims to the development and application of new methods for faster bioprocess development, including genetic, cultivation, and analytical tools with a special focus on the industrial scale. All these aspects are addressed in our education.

We are especially interested in understanding the impact of reactor inhomogeneities on the microbial metabolism and adaptation, both affecting process robustness. This knowledge is applied to design molecular biological and process engineering solutions and thus our research contributes to the understanding and improvement of microbial processes of both fundamental and industrial interests.

By combining state-of-the-art cultivation, sensor and data analysis, automation, and mechanistic modelling technologies with molecular biological and physiological techniques, we contribute to improve the efficiency of bioprocesses and thus to the societal advancement of Industrial Biotechnology. 

© TU Berlin/PR/Felix Noak

Blog

We regularly summarize our activities in our blog.

Consultation hour

Friday 10 -11 am / only with confirmation
Regestration via e-mail: peter.neubauer@tu-berlin.de
Ackerstr. 76, Room 258

Office: Sabine Lühr-Müller
ACK 24 / Entrance A
Room ACK 257
Tel: +49 30 314 72573
Fax: +49 30 314 27577
luehr-mueller@tu-berlin.de

© Dominic Simon

Opportunities

Current opportunities at the department of Bioprocess Engineering
Bachelor and master theses, student assistants and other job offers

Core Facilities

Next to all our labs, the pilot plant and the high-troughput bioprocess develoment facility are leading in there research areas.

© Philipp Arnoldt

Education

The department of Bioprocess Engineering offers a diverse teaching program in the Bachelor and Master.

Bioverfahrenstechnik
Bioverfahrenstechnik
Blick auf das Gebäude ACK Ackerstraße © Oana Popa-Costea
Bioverfahrenstechnik

Willkommen am Fachgebiet für Bioverfahrenstechnik
Prof. Dr. Peter Neubauer

Bioverfahrenstechnik

6th BioProScale Symposium

Die 6. BioProScale fand virtuell vom 29.03. bis 31.03.2021 statt, organisiert vom Lehrstuhl für Bioverfahrenstechnik, dem Bio-PAT Netzwerk und dem IfGB. Es war eine tolle Erfahrung für uns. Wir danken allen Mitwirkenden, Teilnehmern und Sponsoren.
Die Einschränkungen durch die Corona-Pandemie haben uns vor besondere Herausforderungen gestellt. Unsere Vortragenden konnten sie jedoch überwinden und wir haben spannende Vorträge und Poster gesehen.
Der MDPI Lecture Prize ging an Björn Gutschmann und Thomas Schiewe. An Herrn Amin Javidanbardan ging der Eppendorf Preis für das beste Poster.

Mission

Unser Ziel ist es, das Scale-up und Scale-down von Bioprozessen, prozessanalytische Technologien (PAT), dynamische Modellierung und Optimierung, automatisierte Bioprozessentwicklung, Zell- und Systembiologie angewandt auf mikrobielle Bioprozesse und Biokatalyseanwendungen voranzutreiben.

Unsere Forschung am Fachgebiet für Bioverfahrenstechnik unter der Leitung von Professor Dr. Peter Neubauer zielt auf die Entwicklung und Anwendung neuer Methoden zur schnelleren Bioprozessentwicklung, einschließlich genetischer, kultivierender und analytischer Werkzeuge mit besonderem Fokus auf den industriellen Maßstab. All diese Aspekte werden in unserer Ausbildung angesprochen.

Wir sind besonders daran interessiert, den Einfluss von Reaktorinhomogenitäten auf den mikrobiellen Metabolismus und die Adaption zu verstehen, die die Prozessrobustheit beeinflussen. Dieses Wissen wird angewandt, um molekularbiologische und verfahrenstechnische Lösungen zu entwerfen. So trägt unsere Forschung zum Verständnis und zur Verbesserung mikrobieller Prozesse bei, die sowohl von grundlegendem als auch von industriellem Interesse sind.

Durch die Kombination modernster Kultivierungs-, Sensor- und Datenanalyse-, Automatisierungstechnik und mechnaistischer Modellierung mit molekularbiologischen und physiologischen Techniken tragen wir zur Verbesserung der Effizienz von Bioprozessen und damit zum gesellschaftlichen Fortschritt der industriellen Biotechnologie bei.

© TU Berlin/PR/Felix Noak

Blog

Wir fassen unsere Aktivitäten regelmäßig in unserem Blog zusammen.

Sprechstunde

Freitag 10 -11 Uhr / nur mit Anmeldung
Anmeldung via e-mail an: peter.neubauer@tu-berlin.de
Ackerstr. 76, Room 258

Sekretariat: Sabine Lühr-Müller
ACK 24 / Aufgang A
Raum ACK 257
Tel: +49 30 314 72573
Fax: +49 30 314 27577
luehr-mueller@tu-berlin.de

© Dominic Simon

Ausschreibungen

Aktuelle Auschreibungen des FG Bioverfahrenstechnik
Bachelor-, Masterarbeiten, Studentische Hilfskräfte und andere Stellenausschreibungen

© BVT

Zentrale Einrichtungen

Neben all unseren Laboren sind das Technikum und die High Throughput Bioprocess Development Anlage führend in ihren Forschungsbereichen.

© Philipp Arnoldt

Lehre

Das FG Bioverfahrenstechnik bietet ein vielfähltiges Lehrprogramm im Bachelor und Master an.