Architecture Theory

Department of Architecture Theory

 

 

 

 

Teaching Approach

Research and teaching aproach of the department.

The teaching model of the Department of Architectural Theory at TU Berlin can be described by the term "short-circuiting the newest with the oldest". It aims to bind the classical, i.e. the valid, with the emerging, i.e. the contemporary, into a creative unity. With Walter Benjamin, one can speak of the unification of the "actual with the ephemeral" or of "historical with aesthetic experience".

 

News

Lecture at the University of Bologna

Prof. Gleiter will give a lecture on 4 April at 14:00 on the topic Architettura: Ornamento e Indessicalità (Architecture: Ornament and Indexicality) at the University of Bologna, Aula Magna C. Tura, Campus di Cesena.

 

Time: Thursday, 04/04/2024, 14:00
Location: University of Bologna, Aula Magna C. Tura, Campus di Cesena

International Symposium

How does architecture need to be recontextualized to cope with the uncertainties of the climate crisis?

Join us for two days filled with insightful discussions, workshops, and networking opportunities focused on the theme of the transformation of architectural education within changing environmental conditions. Learn from experts in the field and exchange ideas with contributions from international researchers, practitioners, and educators.

The symposium is part of the ongoing project 'Educational Platform – Anthropocene Pedagogies in Architecture' (Fieldstations e.V.), initiated by Lidia Gasperoni (Department of Architectural Theory, TU Berlin) and co-curated by Jennifer Raum (Department of Theory and History of Modern Architecture, Bauhaus University Weimar), Andrea Rossi ( Department of Experimental and Digital Design and Construction, Uni Kassel) and Till Zihlmann (Institute for Building Climatology and Energy of Architecture, TU Braunschweig).

Please register/buy tickets on Eventbrite

Date: Apr 24 - 25 2024

Location: Technische Universität Berlin, Institute of Architecture, Forum, Ernst-Reuter-Platz, Straße des 17.Juni 152.

 

 

Book Presentation

On April 26 at 6 pm, the author Prof. Gérald Ledent (Université Catholique de Louvain) will present his book Brussels Housing. Atlas of Residential Buildings Types in a panel discussion with Prof. Gleiter. The event will be in English and takes place in collaboration with Birkhäuser Verlag and with the support of the representation of East Belgium, the Wallonia-Brussels Federation and Wallonia.

 

 

 

Time: Friday, 26.04.2024, 18:00
Location:  Forum of the Institute of Architecture of the TU Berlin, Straße des 17. Juni 152, 10623 Berlin 

Überschuss an Form. Architekturästhetik und der Status des Objekts.

Prof. Gleiter's essay on the "Ästhetik der Architektur" has now been published in German: Überschuss an Form. Architekturästhetik und der Status des Objekts. It appeared in the highly recommendable book Ästhetik und Architektur, edited by Daniel Feige and Sandra Meireis, Bielefeld: Transcript 2023.

Download essay (German)

Conference: Aesthetics of Sustainability

In terms of its principles, architecture has always been a sustainable cultural technique. However, the concept of sustainability has now become a buzzword through constant repetition and thoughtless use - with the effect that it has become the plaything of instrumental reason and "thoughtless quantification in an abbreviated way of thinking" (Christian Bauer). In this way, the concept of sustainability is well on the way to losing its power to enrich life in all its complexity and to revitalize it from within.

The conference attempts to discuss sustainability as a living concept and to restore its theoretical, historical and aesthetic content. When theory, history and aesthetics can no longer provide orientation, action becomes caught up in the maelstrom of contradictory emotions, paralyzing fears and the aggression that arises from them.

Together with international guests from Great Britain, Norway, Serbia, the Netherlands, Italy, Germany and Israel and students from the Institute of Architecture, the conference aims to examine the neglected question of the aesthetics of sustainability.

Participants are Alessandro Armando, Christian Bauer, Andrea Canclini, Lidia Gasperoni, Jörg Gleiter, Gyöngyver Györffy, Anh Hoffmann, Sandra Meireis, Branko Mitrovic, Ludger Schwarte, Aaron Sprecher and Clinton Verdonschot.

Download poster
Download program

Find pictures of the conference under Aesthetics of Sustainabilty (2024).

Location: Forum of the Institute of Architecture of the TU Berlin, Straße des 17. Juni 152, 10623 Berlin 
Time: Friday, 26.01.2024, 15:00-19:30
Saturday, 27.01.2024, 10:00-16:00

Presentation of the magazine Khōrein

Khōrein. Journal for Architecture and Philosophy is a new architectural journal. It was first presented in May 2023 at the Venice Biennale. The Department of Architectural Theory is happy to introduce this ambitious journal to the architecture community of Berlin.

Special guests: Peter Eisenman, Sarah M. Whiting, Ludger Schwarte, Jörg Gleiter and the editors Petar Bojanic and Snezana Vesnic

Download poster
Download program

Location: Forum of the Institute of Architecture of the TU Berlin, Straße des 17. Juni 152, 10623 Berlin 
Time: Friday, 26.01.2024, 18:00-19:30

Apply for the Alliance4Tech exchange program!

Apply for the Alliance4Tech exchange program until January 30!

More information

Final Theses

The Department of Architecture Theory congratulates the students on their successful theses:

Typologies of Transformation: Mosques in Berlin (MA)
On 6 October, Gizem Asici successfully defended her Master's thesis in Milan. The Master's thesis was written as part of the Alliance 4Tech co-operation between the TU Berlin and the Politecnico di Milano. Her supervisors were Prof. Arian Heidari (Politecnico di Milano) and Prof. Dr Jörg Gleiter (TU Berlin)

Dogma and Practice (BA)
On 17 October, Anika Gercke successfully defended her Bachelor's thesis. This was the first joint Bachelor's thesis in architecture between Politecnico di Milano and TU Berlin. The thesis was supervised by Prof. Alessandro Rocca (Politecnico di Milano) and Prof. Dr Jörg Dr Gleiter (TU Berlin)

Digital Archive. Reusing a former Hennebique grain silos in Genoa. (MA)
Fedor Torgashev successfully defended his Master's thesis on 4 October. It was supervised by Prof Dr Rainer Hehl (TU Berlin) and Prof Dr Jörg H. Gleiter (TU Berlin).

The Panorama and its Promise of Objects

On the occasion of the 100th birthday of the philosopher Maurice Merleau-Ponty, the very readable essay "Das Panorama und sein Gegenstandsversprechen" by Prof. Gleiter was published in 2010. Panoramas, as one can observe with Maurice Merleau-Ponty, practise a very own "magical theory of seeing" (AG 284), at the centre of which is the "metamorphosis of being in its appearance" A(G 285). Perceiving here is an independent transcending and interlocking of the world of images and bodily being ...."

PDF

Lectures in Japan

Prof Gleiter will be in Japan from 2-14 Nov for lectures at Kobe University (7 Nov), Waseda University (8 Nov), Yamaguchi University (10 Nov) and Shiga Museum of Modern Art (12 Nov).

Professor Gleiter in Mailand

Prof. Gleiter is Visiting Professor at the Politecnico di Milano in winter semester 2023/24.

Save the Date!

Reading and discussion by and with Prof. Dr. Jörg H. Gleiter, moderated by Elina Potratz, editor-in-chief of the architecture magazine "Der Architekt". With photos and in the presence of the photographer Sara Toussaint.

Free admission

Location: Walther König Bookshop (Museum Island), Burgstraße 27, 10178 Berlin
Time: Thursday, 16.11.2023, 18:00

German Architecture Award 2023

On behalf of the Federal Chamber of Architects and the Federal Ministry of Housing, Urban Development and Construction, the Federal Office for Building and Regional Planning cordially invites all students to the announcement of the winners of the German Architecture Award 2023 and the award ceremony. The exhibition and award ceremony will take place on Thursday, 28 September 2023, at 6 pm in the Pierre Boulez Saal, Französische Straße 33d, 10117 Berlin; admission is from 5 pm.

Invitation 

Location: Pierre Boulez Saal/Barenboim-Said Akademie, Französische Straße 33d, 10117 Berlin
Time: Thursday, 28.09.2023, 18:00

A4Tech Workshop

The A4Tech Workshop will be held in the week from 4.-10.September 2023 at the Department of Architectural Theory. The workshop is organised by Klaus Platzgummer. It is the second annual workshop of the Alliance4Tech Cooperation between TU Berlin, Politecnico di Milano and ETSAM Madrid.

 

Surplus of Form. Architecture and the Status of the Object

The article „Surplus of Form. Architecture and the Status of the Object" of Prof. Gleiter is out. It is published in the Journal Aesthetic Investigation and available online. The article is the first of a series of articles on architecture aesthetics by Prof. Gleiter.

Job advertisement for a Research Assistant - 0.5 working time

The Department of Architectural Theory has a vacancy for a Research Assistant to start on 1 January. The department looks forward to receiving your application.

Job advertisement pdf

Closing date for applications: 15/09/2023

Masterthesis of Onur Degirmenci

Chthonic Powers As Co-Designer
"The Works Of Architect Osamu Ishiyama"

Location: https://tu-berlin.zoom.us/j/62775159741?pwd=aFNKbDNFV1NmYnZ2dkZGaXpaRVgzdz09#success
Meeting-ID: 627 7515 9741
Code: 113426

Time: Friday, 04.08.2023, 10:30 (17:30 in Tokyo)

Masterthesis of Claire Kaiser

„Between Memory And Transformation - Landscape And Settlement Resilience In The Air Valley"
Alliance4Tech Polimi x TU Berlin

 

 

Location: Forum of the Institute of Architecture of the TU Berlin, Straße des 17. Juni 152, 10623 Berlin 
Time: Friday, 21.07.2023, 14:00

Workshop der Alliance4Tech Kooperation

From 4 - 10 September 2023, the Department of Architecture Theory will host the annual workshop of the Alliance4Tech cooperation. Klaus Platzgummer is organising this year's workshop under the title 'Wires, Waves, Data: Excavating Berlin's Urban Media', in which 25 students from the Politecnico di Milano, ETSAM and TU Berlin will go on excursions to explore Berlin as a medium - a storing, transmitting and processing carrier of historical traces of geopolitics. In accompanying seminars, the media-theoretical postulate "The city is a medium" (Kittler, 1986) is discussed and the workshop results in an exhibition at the Institute of Architecture at TU Berlin.

Caption:
Berlin-Altglienicke, 1956, Berlin Spy Tunnel. The tunnel was part of the joint intelligence operations of the American CIA (Operation Gold) and the British MI6 (Operation Stopwatch) in the 1950s – built to wiretap the military landlines of the Soviet Army headquarters in Berlin. On April 24 1956, after the spying operation became public, representatives of the international press visited the tapping point in the tunnel.
Source: Berlin-Altglienicke, 1956, Berlin Spy Tunnel (Peter Heinz Junge, Bundesarchiv, Bild 183-37695-0020) / Wikicommons

Location: TU Berlin
Time: From 4 - 10 September 2023 

Towards an Architectural Theory for Sustainability

Prof. Gleiter will participate in the international conference Towards an Architectural Theory for Sustainability at the University of Lancaster on July 5, 2023 with a keynote lecture.

Now available!

It is now available: The new book by Prof. Gleiter: gleiters universum. architektur. Berlin: Dejavu Verlag 2023, 180 pages, 15 € with photographs by Sara Toussaint.

Table of contents

 

 

Khorein: Journal for Architecture and Philosophy

On 18 May 2023, at the 18th Biennale di Venezia, the new journal (open source) Khorein: Journal for Architecture and Philosophy was presented. The journal is online.

Essay Architecture and Philosophy: The Failure of Translation by Prof. Gleiter
Review of the book Introduction to Architectural Theory by Prof. Gleiter

Surplus of Form

Prof. Gleiter will give the Inaugural Lecture "Surplus of Form" (L'eccedenza della forma) on 21 March at 16:30 in the Sala Mollino at the Politecnico di Torino. The lecture will be in Italian.

Location: Sala Mollino, Politecnico di Torino
Time: 21 March, 16:30

Research Sabbatical

From 1 March to 31 September 2023, Prof. Gleiter will spend his research sabbatical as Visiting Professor at the Politecnico di Torino. He can only be reached via email during this time.

Email: joerg.gleiter@tu-berlin.de

Turning Back Inside? Ethnographies of Interiors

The recent pandemic and climate change with effects on a global scale overturn the logic of a clear distinction between outside and inside on a local level – which is one of the mainstays of housing the world. The conference Turning back inside. Ethnographies of Interiors aims to create a shared moment of reflection on the concept of interiors: are they only the spaces that human beings inhabit and that allow a certain degree of ownership, protection, intimacy? How are private and public workspaces being rearticulated? Or is it not the environmental and cohabited space, hitherto kept outside as nature, that critical zone that changes the very logic of the interior and re-appropriates it as the environmental space of multispecies relations? How do ethnographic methods draw the boundary between what matters and what does not, studying spatial realities from an ‘inside’ point of view versus critical distance, and their logics of tidiness and messiness? The conference aims to discuss these questions through the lens of ethnographic research applied to architecture, discussing the potential of ethnographic methods by accessing the most diverse interiors, investigating their structuring logics, and re-examining their relationships with the supposed exteriors.

 

 

Locationhttps://tu-berlin.zoom.us/meeting/register/u5crcOquqj0iH9yBNdwZrKOpGrbXimayiLrT
Code: 332255
Time: 28/02/2023
9.30-16.00 CET

Organizers:
Lidia Gasperoni (TU Berlin)
Julia von Mende (Bauhaus-Universität Weimar)
Brett Mommersteeg (HU Berlin)
and the Netzwerk Architekturwissenschaft e.V.
with the kind support of Sutor Stiftung.

Call for Papers

Together with Prof. Annalisa Trentin (Università Bologna), the Department of Architectural Theory invites interested architects, architectural historians and theorists, sociologists and art scholars to submit essays on Envisioning Tomorrow's Cities. O. M. Unger's Urban Reflections. Essays will be selected through a double blind peer review process. Deadline for submission: September 30, 2023.

Exposé

Deadline: 30.September 2023

Colloquium on the Aesthetics of the Future City

For February 9 and 10 the Department of Architectural Theory organizes an international seminar on the questions of the aesthetics of the future city. Co-organizers are Prof. Andrea Borsari (Universit'a di Bologna) and Prof. Denis Thouard (Centre Marc Bloch, Berlin).

Exposé

Location: Centre Marc Bloch, Friedrichstraße 191, 10117 Berlin;
Department of Architecture Theory, Straße des 17. Juni 152, 10623 Berlin
Time: 09/02.-10/02/2023

Apply for the Alliance4Tech exchange program!

Apply for the Alliance4Tech exchange program until January 30!

More information

The Great Transformation

The conference/workshop The Great Transformation. Typology and Morphology in the Anthropocene takes a critical look at the changing conditions of typology and urban morphology as central architectural concepts for the creation of a meaningful human environment. It examines how and whether the changing concept of environment will lead to a typological transformation of existing urban morphology. Changing demographics, new concepts of living and housing, public transportation, biodiversity and human and animal conviviality are all factors that have an immediate effect on typology and urban morphology.

Exposé

Location: Forum of the Institute of Architecture at the TU Berlin, Straße des 17. Juni 152, 10623 Berlin 
Time: 26/01.-27/01/2023

We have Instagram!

Online lecture on Dec. 1st at 6:15 pm

On Thursday Dec. 1st Prof. Gleiter will hold a public lecture at Politecnico di Milano. Il tema will be „Totally modern – Architecture and the Changing Concept of Time“. The lecture will start at 6:15 pm at the Building Trifoglio - Room T.1.2. It will be also streamed via Webex:

https://politecnicomilano.webex.com/meet/nicolo.chierichetti

Location: online
Date: Thursday Dec. 1st,18:15

Book launch on 13 Nov. 18:00

Book launch of the book "Eastern European Modernism. Contributions of Jewish Architects" in the Bauhau-Reusen Pavilion on Ernst-Reuter-Platz. The book presentation is part of the Triennale der Moderne. The book was produced in collaboration between the Department of Architectural Theory and the Society for the Study of the Lives and Work of German-Speaking Jewish Architects.

Location: BHROX bauhaus reuse, 
Ernst-Reuter-Platz, 10587 Berlin
Time: Sunday, 13 November 18:00

Current issue "Aesthetics of the Anthropocene"

The article "The Anthoprocene and the Historical Index of Architecture" by Prof. Gleiter has been published in the online journal CPCL (European Journal of Creative Practices in Cities and Landscapes) Vol. 5. no.1. https://cpcl.unibo.it/article/view/14865/14792

The journal can be found at: https://cpcl.unibo.it/issue/view/1089 as well as on Facebook https://www.facebook.com/cpcl.journal/

Symposium on 4 Nov 16:30

On the occasion of the 150th birthday of the Czech architect Jože Plečnik, the Institute of Architecture at the TU Berlin is organising the international symposium "PLEČNIK NOW! Exploring Public Space and Urban Porosity." It will be held in cooperation with and with the financial support of the Slovenian cultural centre SKICA Berlin. An accompanying exhibition of contemporary photographs by Czech photographer Adam Štěch will show the diversity of the architect Plečnik's urban interventions and his approaches in Ljubljana, Slovenia, one of his main places of work.

Location: Forum of the Institute for Architecture at the TU Berlin, Straße des 17. Juni 152, 10623 Berlin 
Time: Friday, 4.11.2022, 16:30 – 21:00 

Vernissage on 4 Nov. at 8 pm

Location: Forum of the Institute for Architecture at the TU Berlin, Straße des 17. Juni 152, 10623 Berlin 
Time: Friday, 4.11.2022, 20:00

Exhibition from 2 Jul - 30 Sep 2022

Prof. Taishi Watanabe teaches at the Waseda University in Tokio.
The exhibition "Xover Architecture" is a traveling exhibition taking place in three different cities: Helsinki, Belin and Weimar.

In bookshops now!

What actually is architectural theory? This volume introduces a neglected discipline. For architecture is by no means an activity that exclusively creates material things for practical use. On the contrary, it is a cultural technique that links theoretical knowledge, practical action and emotional experience in a complex way. How it does this and what principles it follows in the process is the subject of theory, which at the same time always pre-structures architecture. For the first time, this volume systematically presents architectural theory in its basic terms, such as sign, phenomenon, atmosphere, ornament, style, space, tectonics and form. In the age of the Anthropocene, architecture faces great challenges and therefore needs more than ever the reassurance of its theoretical foundations.

Guest lecture on 20 June

Architekturtheorie

Fachgebiet für Architekturtheorie

 

 

 

 

Lehrkonzept

Forschungs- und Lehrkonzept des Fachgebiets.

Das Lehrmodell des Fachgebiets Architekturtheorie der TU Berlin lässt sich mit dem Begriff „Kurzschluss des Neuesten mit dem Ältesten“ beschreiben. Es zielt darauf, das Klassische, also Gültige, mit dem Entstehenden, also Zeitgenössischen, in eine kreative Einheit zu binden. Mit Walter Benjamin kann man von der Vereinigung des „Eigentlichen mit dem Ephemeren“ oder von „geschichtlicher mit ästhetischer Erfahrung“ sprechen.

 

Aktuelles

Überschuss an Form. Architekturästhetik und der Status des Objekts.

Der Aufsatz von Prof. Gleiter zur "Ästhetik der Architektur" ist jetzt auf Deutsch erschienen: Überschuss an Form. Architekturästhetik und der Status des Objekts. Er erschien in dem sehr lesenswerten Buch Ästhetik und Architektur, hrsg. v. Daniel Feige und Sandra Meireis, Bielefeld: Transcript 2023.

Download Aufsatz 

Konferenz: Ästhetik der Nachhaltigkeit

Die Architektur war von ihren Prinzipien her schon immer eine nachhaltige Kulturtechnik. Allerdings ist der Begriff der Nachhaltigkeit durch ständige Wiederholung und gedankenlosem Gebrauch zum Modewort geworden - mit dem Effekt, dass er zum Spielball der instrumentellen Vernunft und der "gedankenlosen Quantifizierung in einer verkürzten Denkweise" (Christian Bauer) geworden ist. Auf diese Weise ist der Begriff der Nachhaltigkeit dabei, seine Kraft zu verlieren, wo er doch das Leben in seiner ganzen Komplexität bereichern und von innen heraus beleben könnte.

Die Konferenz versucht, Nachhaltigkeit als ein lebendiges Konzept zu diskutieren und seinen theoretischen, historischen und ästhetischen Gehalt wiederherzustellen. Wenn Theorie, Geschichte und Ästhetik keine Orientierung mehr bieten können, gerät das Handeln in den Strudel widersprüchlicher Emotionen, lähmender Ängste und der daraus entstehenden Aggression.

Gemeinsam mit internationalen Gästen aus Großbritannien, Norwegen, Serbien, den Niederlanden, Italien, Deutschland und Israel sowie Studierenden des Instituts für Architektur will die Konferenz die vernachlässigte Frage nach der Ästhetik der Nachhaltigkeit untersuchen.

Teilnehmer*innen sind Alessandro Armando, Christian Bauer, Andrea Canclini, Lidia Gasperoni, Jörg Gleiter, Gyöngyver Györffy, Anh Hoffmann, Sandra Meireis, Branko Mitrovic, Ludger Schwarte, Aaron Sprecher und Clinton Verdonschot.

Download Poster
Download Programm
Fotos von der Konferenz finden Sie unter Aesthetics of Sustainabilty (2024).

Ort:  Forum des Instituts für Architektur der TU Berlin, Straße des 17. Juni 152, 10623 Berlin 
Zeit: Freitag, 26.01.2024, 15:00-19:30
Samstag, 27.01.2024, 10:00-16:00

Vorstellung des Magazins Khōrein

Khōrein. Journal for Architecture and Philosophy ist eine jüngst erschienene Architekturzeitschrift. Sie wurde erstmals im Mai 2023 auf der Biennale in Venedig vorgestellt. Der Lehrstuhl für Architekturtheorie freut sich, diese ambitionierte Zeitschrift der Berliner Architekturszene vorzustellen.

Besondere Gäste: Peter Eisenman, Sarah M. Whiting, Ludger Schwarte, Jörg Gleiter und die Redakteur*innen Petar Bojanic und Snezana Vesnic

Download Poster
Download Programm

Ort:  Forum des Instituts für Architektur der TU Berlin, Straße des 17. Juni 152, 10623 Berlin 
Zeit: Freitag, 26.01.2024, 18:00-19:30

Bewerbt Euch für das Alliance4Tech-Austauschprogramm!

Bewerbt Euch bis zum 30.Januar 2024 für das Alliance4Tech-Austauschprogramm!

Mehr Informationen 

Abschlussarbeiten

Das Fachgebiet für Architekturtheorie gratuliert zu den erfolgreichen Abschlussarbeiten:

Typologies of Transformation: Mosques in Berlin (MA)
Am 6. Oktober hat Gizem Asici ihre Masterarbeit In Mailand erfolgreich verteidigt. Die Masterarbeit wurde im Rahmen der Alliance 4Tech Kooperation zwischen der TU Berlin und dem Politecnico di Milano erarbeitet. Betreuer waren Prof. Arian Heidari (Politecnico di Milano) und Prof. Dr. Jörg Gleiter (TU Berlin)

Dogma and Practice (BA)
Am 17. Oktober hat Anika Gercke ihre Bachelorarbeit erfolgreich verteidigt. Dies war die erste gemeinsame Bachelorarbeit in Architektur von Politecnico di Milano und TU Berlin. Betreut wurde die Arbeit von Prof. Alessandro Rocca (Politecnico di Milano) und Prof. Dr. Jörg Dr. Gleiter (TU Berlin)

Digital Archive. Reusing a former Hennebique grain silos in Genoa. (MA)
Am 4. Oktober hat Fedor Torgashev erfolgreich seine Masterarbeit verteidigt. Sie wurde von Prof. Dr. Rainer Hehl (TU Berlin) und Prof. Dr. Jörg H. Gleiter (TU Berlin) betreut.

Das Panorama und sein Gegenstandsversprechen

Zum 100. Geburtstag des Philosophen Maurice Merleau-Ponty ist im Jahr 2010 der sehr lesenswerte Aufsatz „Das Panorama und sein Gegenstandsversprechen“ von Prof. Gleiter erschienen. Panoramen praktizieren, wie man mit Maurice Merleau-Ponty feststellen kann, eine ganz eigene „magische Theorie des Sehens" (AG 284), in deren Zentrum die „Metamorphose des Seins in seinem Schein" A(G 285) steht. Wahrnehmen ist hier eigenständiges Überschreiten und Ineinandergreifen von Bildwelt und leiblichem Sein ….“

PDF

Vorträge in Japan

Prof. Gleiter wird vom 2.-14. November in Japan sein für Vorträge an der Kobe University (7. Nov.), Waseda University (8.Nov), Yamaguchi University (10. Nov.) und im Shiga Museum of Modern Art (12. Nov.).

Professor Gleiter in Mailand

Prof. Gleiter ist im WiSe 2023/24 Visiting Professor am Politecnico di Milano.
 

Save the Date!

Lesung und Gespräch von und mit Prof. Dr. Jörg H. Gleiter, moderiert von Elina Potratz, Chefredakteurin der Architekturzeitschrift «Die Architekt». Mit Fotografien und in Anwesenheit der Fotografin Sara Toussaint.

Eintritt frei

Ort: Buchhandlung Walther König (Museumsinsel), Burgstraße 27, 10178 Berlin
Zeit: Donnerstag, 16.11.2023, 18:00

Deutscher Architekturpreis 2023

Zur Bekanntgabe der Preisträgerinnen und Preisträger des Deutschen Architekturpreises 2023 und der feierlichen Verleihung lädt das Bundesamt für Bauwesen und Raumordnung alle Studierenden im Namen der Bundesarchitektenkammer und des Bundesministeriums für Wohnen, Stadtentwicklung und Bauwesen sehr herzlich ein. Die Ausstellung und Preisverleihung findet am Donnerstag, dem 28. September 2023, um 18 Uhr im Pierre Boulez Saal, Französische Straße 33d, 10117 Berlin statt; Einlass ist ab 17 Uhr.

Einladung

Ort: Pierre Boulez Saal/Barenboim-Said Akademie, Französische Straße 33d, 10117 Berlin
Zeit: Donnerstag, 28.09.2023, 18:00

A4Tech Workshop

Der jährliche A4Tech Workshop wird in der Woche vom 4.-10.September 2023 am Fachgebiet für Architekturtheorie stattfinden. Er wurde von Klaus Platzgummer organisiert. Bei dem Workshop handelt es sich um die zweite Kooperation zwischen der TU Berlin, Politecnico di Milano und ETSAM Madrid.

 

Surplus of Form. Architecture and the Status of the Object

Der Artikel "Surplus of Form. Architektur und der Status des Objekts" von Prof. Gleiter ist erschienen. Er wurde in der Zeitschrift Aesthetic Investigation publiziert und ist online verfügbar. Der Artikel ist der erste einer Reihe von Artikeln über architecture aesthetics von Prof. Gleiter.

Stellenausschreibung Wiss. Mitarbeiter*in (d/m/w) - 50% Arbeitszeit

Am Fachgebiet Architekturtheorie ist zum 1. Januar die Stelle eines Wissenschaftlichen Mitarbeitenden ausgeschrieben. Das Fachgebiet freut sich auf Ihre Bewerbung.

Stellenausschreibung pdf

Bewerbungsfristende: 15.09.2023

Masterthesis von Onur Degirmenci

Chthonic Powers As Co-Designer
"The Works Of Architect Osamu Ishiyama"

Ort: https://tu-berlin.zoom.us/j/62775159741?pwd=aFNKbDNFV1NmYnZ2dkZGaXpaRVgzdz09#success
Meeting-ID: 627 7515 9741
Kenncode: 113426

Zeit: Freitag, 04.08.2023, 10:30 (17:30 in Tokio)

Masterthesis von Claire Kaiser

„Between Memory And Transformation - Landscape And Settlement Resilience In The Air Valley"
Alliance4Tech Polimi x TU Berlin

 

 

Ort: Forum des Instituts für Architektur der TU Berlin, Straße des 17. Juni 152, 10623 Berlin 
Zeit: Freitag, 21.07.2023, 14:00

Workshop der Alliance4Tech Kooperation

Vom 4. - 10. September 2023 trägt das Fachgebiet Architekturtheorie den jährlich stattfindenden Workshop der Alliance4Tech Kooperation aus. Klaus Platzgummer organisiert den diesjährigen workshop unter dem Titel ‘Wires, Waves, Data: Excavating Berlin’s Urban Media’ bei dem 25 Studierende des Politecnico di Milano, der ETSAM und der TU Berlin in Exkursionen Berlin als ein Medium — einen speichernden, übertragenden und verarbeitenden Träger historischer Spuren von Geopolitik — erkunden. In begleitenden Seminaren wird das medientheoretische Postulat “Die Stadt ist ein Medium” (Kittler, 1986) diskutiert und der Workshop resultiert in einer Ausstellung am Institut für Architektur der TU Berlin.

Foto:
Berlin-Altglienicke, 1956, Berliner Spionagetunnel. Der Tunnel war Teil der gemeinsamen Geheimdienstoperationen der amerikanischen CIA (Operation Gold) und des britischen MI6 (Operation Stopwatch) in den 1950er Jahren - gebaut, um die militärischen Festnetze des Hauptquartiers der Sowjetarmee in Berlin abzuhören. Am 24. April 1956, nach Bekanntwerden der Spionageaktion, besuchten Vertreter der internationalen Presse die Abhörstelle im Tunnel.
Quelle: Berlin-Altglienicke, 1956, Berliner Spionagetunnel (Peter Heinz Junge, Bundesarchiv, Bild 183-37695-0020) / Wikicommons

Ort: TU Berlin
Zeit: Vom 4. - 10. September 2023 

Towards an Architectural Theory for Sustainability

Prof. Gleiter wird am 5. Juli 2023 an der internationalen Konferenz Towards an Architectural Theory for Sustainability an der University of Lancaster mit einer Keynote lecture teilnehmen. 

 

Jetzt im Handel!

Es ist jetzt erhältlich das neue Buch von Prof. Gleiter: gleiters universum. architektur. Berlin: Dejavu Verlag 2023, 180 Seiten, 15 € mit Fotografien von Sara Toussaint.

Inhalt

Khorein: Journal for Architecture and Philosophy

Am 18. Mai 2023 wurde auf der 18. Biennale di Venezia die neue Zeitschrift (open source) Khorein: Journal for Architecture and Philosophy präsentiert. Die Zeitschrift ist online. 

Aufsatz Architecture and Philosophy: The Failure of Translation von Prof. Gleiter
Rezension des Buchs Einführung in die Architekturtheorie von Prof. Gleiter

 

Überschuss an Form

Prof. Gleiter wir am 21. März um 16:30 in der Sala Mollino am Politecnico di Torino die Inauguralvorlesung „Überschuss an Form“ (L’eccedenza della forma) geben. Die Vorlesung ist auf Italienisch. 

Ort: Sala Mollino, Politecnico di Torino
Zeit: 21. März, 16:30

Forschungsfreisemester

Vom 1. März bis 31. September 2023 verbringt Prof. Gleiter sein Forschungsfreisemester als Visiting Professor am Politecnico di Torino. Er ist in dieser Zeit nur über Emails erreichbar. 

Email: joerg.gleiter@tu-berlin.de

Turning Back Inside? Ethnographies of Interiors

Die jüngste Pandemie und der globale Klimawandel stellen die Logik einer klaren Unterscheidung zwischen außen und innen auf lokaler Ebene in Frage - eine der Hauptstützen des Wohnens. Die Konferenz „Turning back inside. Ethnographies of Interiors“ zielt darauf ab, einen gemeinsamen Moment der Reflexion über das Konzept der Innenräume zu schaffen: Sind es nur die Räume, die von Menschen bewohnt werden und die ein gewisses Maß an Besitz, Schutz und Intimität ermöglichen? Wie werden private und öffentliche Arbeitsräume neu artikuliert? Oder ist nicht gerade der Umwelt- und Lebensraum, der bisher als Natur außen vor blieb, die kritische Zone, die die Logik des Innenraums verändert und ihn sich als Umweltraum der Multispeziesbeziehungen wieder aneignet? Wie ziehen ethnografische Methoden die Grenze zwischen dem, was wichtig ist, und dem, was nicht wichtig ist, indem sie räumliche Realitäten aus der Innenperspektive oder aus der kritischen Distanz heraus untersuchen, sowie deren Logik der Ordnung und Unordnung? Ziel der Konferenz ist es, diese Fragen durch die Linse der auf die Architektur angewandten ethnografischen Forschung zu erörtern und das Potenzial ethnografischer Methoden zu erörtern, indem die unterschiedlichsten Innenräume erschlossen, ihre strukturierenden Logiken untersucht und ihre Beziehungen zu den vermeintlichen Außenräumen neu beleuchtet werden.

Orthttps://tu-berlin.zoom.us/meeting/register/u5crcOquqj0iH9yBNdwZrKOpGrbXimayiLrT
Code: 332255
Zeit: 28.02.2023
9.30-16.00 CET

Organizers:
Lidia Gasperoni (TU Berlin)
Julia von Mende (Bauhaus-Universität Weimar)
Brett Mommersteeg (HU Berlin)
and the Netzwerk Architekturwissenschaft e.V.
with the kind support of Sutor Stiftung.

Call for Papers

Zusammen mit Prof. Annalisa Trentin (Università Bologna) lädt das Fachgebiet Architekturtheorie interessierte Architekten, Architekturhistoriker und -theoretiker, Soziologen und Kunstwissenschaftler ein, sich am Call for Papers zum Thema Envisioning Tomorrow’s Cities. O. M. Ungers Urban Reflections to beteiligten. Die Auswahl der Aufsätze erfolgt in einem double blind peer review Verfahren. Abgabeschluss: 30. September 2023.

Exposé

Deadline: 30.September 2023

Kolloquium zur Ästhetik der zukünftigen Stadt

Das Fachgebiet organisiert für den 9. und 10. Februar ein internationales Fachkolloquium zu Fragen der Ästhetik der zukünftigen Stadt. Mitorganisatoren sind Prof. Andrea Borsari (UNIVERSITÀ DI BOLOGNA) und Prof. Denis Thouard (Centre Marc Bloch)

Exposé

Ort: Centre Marc Bloch, Friedrichstraße 191, 10117 Berlin;
Fachgebiet für Architekturtheorie, Straße des 17. Juni 152, 10623 Berlin
Zeit: 09.02.-10.02.2023

Apply for the Alliance4Tech exchange program!

Apply for the Alliance4Tech exchange program until January 30!

More information

The Great Transformation

Die Tagung "The Great Transformation. Typology and Morphology in the Anthropocene" wirft einen kritischen Blick auf die sich verändernden Bedingungen von Typologien und urbaner Morphologie als zentrale architektonische Konzepte für die Schaffung einer sinnvollen menschlichen Umwelt. Es wird untersucht, wie und ob der sich verändernde Begriff der "Umwelt" zu einer typologischen Transformation der bestehenden Stadtmorphologie führen wird. Der demografische Wandel, neue Wohn- und Lebenskonzepte, öffentliche Verkehrsmittel, biologische Vielfalt und das Zusammenleben von Mensch und Tier sind Faktoren, die sich unmittelbar auf die Typologie und die Stadtmorphologie auswirken.

Exposé

Ort: Forum des Instituts für Architektur der TU Berlin, Straße des 17. Juni 152, 10623 Berlin 
Zeit: 26.01.-27.01.2023

Wir haben Instagram!

Online-Vortrag am 1. Dezember um 18:15 Uhr

Am Donnerstag, den 1. Dezember wird Prof. Gleiter einen öffentlichen Vortrag an der Politecnico di Milano halten. Das Thema lautet "Totally modern - Architecture and the Changing Concept of Time". Der Vortrag  beginnt um 18:15 Uhr im Gebäude Trifoglio - Raum T.1.2. Er wird auch über Webex gestreamt: 
https://politecnicomilano.webex.com/meet/nicolo.chierichetti

Location: online
Date: Thursday Dec. 1st, 6:15 pm

Buchvorstellung am 13. Nov. 18:00 Uhr

Buchvorstellung des Buches „Osteuropäische Moderne. Beiträge jüdischer Architekten und Architektinnen“ im Bauhau-Reusen Pavillon auf dem Ernst-Reuter-Platz. Die Buchpräsentation ist Teil der Triennale der Moderne. Das Buch entstand in Zusammenarbeit des Fachgebiets Architekturtheorie und der Gesellschaft zur Erforschung des Lebens und Wirkens deutschsprachiger jüdischer Architekten.

 

Ort: BHROX bauhaus reuse, 
Ernst-Reuter-Platz, 10587 Berlin
Zeit: Sonntag, 13. November, 18:00

Aktuelles Heft "Aesthetics of the Anthropocene"

Der Aufsatz „The Anthoprocene and the Historical Index of Architecture“ von Prof. Gleiter ist in der Onlinezeitschrift  CPCL (European Journal of Creative Practices in Cities and Landscapes) Vol. 5. no.1 erschienen. https://cpcl.unibo.it/article/view/14865/14792

Die Zeitschrift findet sich unter: https://cpcl.unibo.it/issue/view/1089 oder auf Facebook https://www.facebook.com/cpcl.journal/

Symposium am 4. Nov. 16:30 Uhr

Anlässlich des 150. Geburtstages des tschechischen Architekten Jože Plečnik veranstaltet das Institut für Architektur der TU Berlin am 4. November 2022 das internationale Symposium „PLEČNIK NOW! Exploring Public Space and Urban Porosity.“ Es wird in Zusammenarbeit und mit finanzieller Unterstützung des slowenischen Kulturzentrums SKICA Berlin durchgeführt. Eine begleitende Ausstellung mit zeitgenössischen Fotografien des tschechischen Fotografen Adam Štěch zeigt die Vielfalt der urbanen Interventionen des Architekten Plečnik und seine Herangehensweisen im slowenischen Ljubljana, einer seiner Hauptwirkungsstätten.

Ort: Forum des Instituts für Architektur der TU Berlin, Straße des 17. Juni 152, 10623 Berlin 
Zeit: Freitag, 4.11.2022, 16:30 – 21:00 Uhr

Vernissage am 4. Nov. um 20 Uhr

Ort: Forum des Instituts für Architektur der TU Berlin, Straße des 17. Juni 152, 10623 Berlin 
Zeit: Freitag, 4.11.2022, 20:00

Ausstellung vom 2.Jul. - 30.Sept. 2022

Prof. Taishi Watanabe lehrt an der Waseda-Universität in Tokio.
Die Ausstellung "Xover Architecture" ist eine Wanderausstellung, die in drei verschiedenen Städten stattfindet: Helsinki, Belin und Weimar.

Ab jetzt im Buchhandel!

Was ist eigentlich Architekturtheorie? Dieser Band führt in eine vernachlässigte Disziplin ein. Denn Architektur ist keineswegs eine Tätigkeit, die ausschließlich materielle Dinge zum praktischen Gebrauch erschafft. Im Gegenteil ist sie eine Kulturtechnik, die theoretisches Wissen, praktisches Handeln und emotionale Erfahrung in komplexer Weise verknüpft. Wie sie das tut und welchen Prinzipien sie dabei folgt, ist Thema der Theorie, die die Architektur zugleich immer schon vorstrukturiert. Erstmals wird in diesem Band die Architekturtheorie systematisch in ihren Grundbegriffen wie Zeichen, Phänomen, Atmosphäre, Ornament, Stil, Raum, Tektonik und Form dargestellt. Im Zeitalter des Anthropozäns steht die Architektur vor großen Herausforderungen und bedarf deshalb mehr denn je der Versicherung ihrer theoretischen Grundlagen.

Gastvortrag am 20. Juni