Fachgebiet Audiokommunikation

Edgard-Varèse-Guest-Professor 2023

Prof. Dr. Eduardo Reck Miranda

Eduardo Reck Miranda (1963, Brazil) is a computer scientist and composer working at the crossroads of music and science. He teaches and conducts research at the University of Plymouth, UK, where he is Professor in Computer Music and director of the Interdisciplinary Centre for Computer Music Research (ICCMR). He is known as a composer of chamber and electroacoustic pieces but is most notable in the United Kingdom for his scientific research into computer music, particularly in the field of human-machine interfaces where brain waves will replace keyboards and voice commands to permit the disabled to express themselves musically.

As guest professor at TU Berlin, he teaches the classes Unconventional Computing for Music and Algorithmic Composition.




Die Edgard Varèse-Gastprofessur für Computermusik wurde im Jahr 2000 an die TU Berlin vergeben. Sie wird vom Deutschen Akademischen Austauschdienst (DAAD) finanziert und zielt auf die Internationalisierung von Studium und Lehre. Der Vertrag wurde zwischen dem DAAD, der TU Berlin und dem Rundfunk Berlin-Brandenburg (RBB) geschlossen. Der Gastprofessor wendet sich in erster Linie an die Studierenden der TU Berlin, aber auch an ein breiteres Publikum durch musikalische Veranstaltungen und Aufführungen, durch den Aufbau internationaler Verbindungen und durch die Zusammenarbeit mit Künstlern in Berlin, insbesondere mit Gästen des Berliner Künstlerprogramms des DAAD. Die Monographie Musik als Ars Scientia - Die Edgard Varese Gastprofessoren des DAAD an der Technischen Universität zu Berlin 2000-2006 von Björn Gottstein ist unseren Gästen der ersten Jahre gewidmet.

Daniel Mayer

Wintersemester 2022/23


  • Selected Chapters on Sound Synthesis, Processing, Spatialization, and Multi-parameter Control
  • Metaperspectives of Sound Design with the Computer

Mehmet Can Özer

Sommersemester 2022


  • Techniques and History of Electroacoustic Music
  • Improvisation with/for Computers

Paloma López & Leslie García (Interspecifics)

Wintersemester 2021/22


  • Hybrid sound interfaces to explore natural phenomena
  • Beyond sonification: a data-driven ML composition

Thor Magnusson

Sommersemester 2021


  • Designing Systems for Musical Performance: Language as an Interface
  • Sonic Writing: Technologies of Material, Symbolic and Signal Inscriptions

Paula Matthusen

Wintersemester 2020/21


  • Invocations of Space and their Discontents
  • Noise :: Feedback :: Noise

Chris Chafe

Wintersemester 2019/20


  • Local Networks for Musical Interaction in Ensembles
  • Online Jamming and Concert Technology

Atau Tanaka

Sommersemester 2019


  • Theory: Embodied Musical Interaction
  • Praxis: Interactive performance programming in MaxMSP

Oliver Schneller

Wintersemester 2018/19


  • Musique mixte
  • Sound in its Own Space

Natasha Barrett

Sommersemester 2018


  • 3D sound, environments and human agency in acousmatic music
  • Live electroacoustic performance and interactive VR

Gerriet K. Sharma

Wintersemester 2017/18


  • Spatial practices I - Komponieren mit Skulpturalen Klangphänomenen in der Computermusik
  • Spatial practices II - Raumkonzepte in den Auditiven Künsten - Towards a Shared Perceptual Space (SPS)

Diemo Schwarz

Sommersemester 2017


  • Grundlagen und Anwendungen Corpusbasierter Concatenativer Klangsynthese
  • Projekte mit Interaktiver Corpusbasierter Concatenativer Klangsynthese

Michael Harenberg

Wintersemester 2016/17


  • Algorithmische Komposition unter Live-Bedingungen
  • Aktuelle Aspekte musikalischer Virtualisierung

Kaffe Matthews

Sommersemester 2016


  • Bicrophonics Theory
  • Bicrophonics Practical Workshops

Barry Truax

Wintersemester 2015/16


  • The Acoustic and Psychoacoustic Basis of Digital Synthesis and Signal Processing
  • Soundscape Composition as Context-based Creation

Caleb Kelly

Sommersemester 2015


  • Sound and Materials
  • Sound in Music and Sound Art

Pierre Alexandre Tremblay

Wintersemester 2014/15


  • A Systemic Approach to Mixed Music: Composition, Performance, Aesthetics, Techniques
  • The Studio as Composition Tool: Methods and Music

Miller Puckette

Sommersemester 2014


  • Electronic music in live performance
  • Signal processing techniques for real-time computer music

Nicolas Collins

Wintersemester 2013/14


  • A History of Experimental Music in 10 ½ Chapters
  • Hardware Hacking

Kees Tazelaar

Sommersemester 2013


  • Terminus as a Point of Departure
  • Electroacoustic Music: Origins – Technology – Aesthetics

Guy De Bièvre

Wintersemester 2012/13


  • Digital re-enactments of scores originally requiring analog electronics
  • Time and space perceptions in sound installations

Marc Battier

Sommersemester 2012


  • The invention of artificial sound in the 20th century
  • Electroacoustic music in all its forms

Michael Schumacher

Wintersemester 2011/12


  • Multichannel Sound Composition
  • Ear Training for Computer and Electronic Music

Douglas Repetto

Sommersemester 2011


  • Feedback
  • Transduction

Ronald Kuivila

Wintersemester 2010/11


  • Composition in the Arts
  • Seminar in Live Electronics

Jonty Harrison

Sommersemester 2010


  • Repertoire and Performance Practice of Acousmatic Music
  • Aesthetic Trends in Acousmatic Music

Simon Emmerson

Wintersemester 2009/10


  • Living Electronic Music
  • Organising Electroacoustic Music

Edwin van der Heide

Sommersemester 2009


  • In Between Time and Space
  • Sound Describing Space vs Space Describing Sound

Paul Davis

Wintersemester 2008/09


  • Audio Workstation Design & Implementation
  • Building Tools For Musicians

Fernando Lopez-Lezcano

Sommersemester 2008


  • Computer music and digital synthesis
  • Sound and Space

Agostino di Scipio

Wintersemester 2007/08


  • Dynamical Networks of Sonic Interactions
  • Composing in an Ecosystemic Perspective

Norbert Schnell

Sommersemester 2007


  • Basics of real-time interactive audio processing
  • Real-time interaction with recorded sounds

Eduardo Reck Miranda

Wintersemester 2006/07

Axel Röbel

Sommersemester 2006

Kees Tazelaar

Wintersemester 2005/06

Daniel Teruggi

Sommersemester 2005

Alberto de Campo

Wintersemester 2004/05

Trevor Wishart

Sommersemester 2004

Hans Tutschku

Sommersemester 2003

Gottfried Michael Koenig

Wintersemester 2002/03

David Behrman

Sommersemester 2002

Gerhard Eckel

Wintersemester 2001/02

Diemer de Vries

Sommersemester 2001

Stephan Travis Pope

Sommersemester 2000